We hear that phrase a lot in TV and movies, also when dating. How does it relate to watches? As it relates to me, let me paint a little picture.

I’ve been a member of WatchCrunch for 20 months now and have learned a lot about watches and myself during that time.

As stated elsewhere, my interest in watches has spanned most of my life. Before the semi-dormant virus really kicked into overdrive in February of 2022, I already owned 9 watches (all sub-$200). Knowing Reddit was a place with forums about any topic, I first went to r/watches and received my initial adoption into the hobby of horology. I was also watching a lot of YouTube videos, but really nothing watch-related until I saw one of Max’s videos. Having felt myself becoming more negative by being on Reddit, I poked around on the Crunch & joined in May 2022 (on ‘May the Fourth Be With You’ Day incidentally).

I found the people nice, respectful and willing to impart knowledge; something I felt was lacking on Reddit. Yes, even the semi-crochety folks that sort of resent that the same topics (WR, Homages, etc.) keep getting resurrected every few weeks were nice about their disgruntleness. They even explained what was meant by that classic phrase “do your research”.

It was also around this time that I became aware of and obsessed with the Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch. Why? Well to answer this, I should tell you a little about myself & I also have to sort of explain my philosophy of purchasing tools/services.

If you pay attention to my username on this and other social media websites (UnholiestJedi), it should come as no surprise that I am a fan of the Star Wars franchise of films/shows/books. I am enamored with space and the Moon. If there were a way I could easily and economically travel through space to the Moon, I would do it.

I also love dive watches. Why is this relevant? Well, a dive watch and a Moonwatch are built to standards that allow them to operate in environments that other watches cannot tolerate. (Let’s ignore the fact that the Moonwatch wasn’t designed for this. It just happened to meet the criteria NASA was looking for; which to me, it makes the watch even cooler.) A dive watch has to generally be pretty tough to be able to with stand the pressure of 20 atmospheres (or more) and still tell time.

It’s the philosophy of “Buy the best and cry only once.”

Sadly, my income does not allow me to do this all the time. Neither did my parent’s income when I was a kid. My dad was a foreman for a construction company and a general contractor on the side. We always made do. I recall many a night when dad’s company was between projects that we would eat self-canned fruit and cheese toast for dinners. Making do and compromising is built into my DNA.

As someone that typically can’t pay others to do the things that need done, I am frequently in positions where a luxury watch is not the correct piece to be wearing. Yes, watches are made to be worn, but when the watch on your wrist is the nicest (and most expensive) watch you own, you really don’t want to scratch it up unnecessarily.

So, how does all of this tie into the title of this post? Well, because of the circumstances of my family, choices I’ve made in my adult life and choices that were made by others that still affected me, I’ve basically decided that I cannot in good conscience lust after an Omega Speedmaster Professional Moonwatch bought new from an AD any longer. Financially, I just do not see it happening at this point in time. If something changed (and maybe this blog can be the beginning of that), then perhaps I can re-visit this decision.

“But you love the Moonwatch!” Yes, yes I do. I even tried one on a month ago (meteorite dial) and it was beautiful. Felt great on the wrist, looked good on MY wrist. Wife saw the $13K price tag and almost did a spit take right there & then in the store, but I digress.

Therefore, Omega Speedmaster Professional Moonwatch, it’s not you… it’s me. At this point in time, I am not worthy of you and I release you from my lusting. Go find those who are worthy of your twisted lugs, your beautifully plain & legible dial, your historical contributions to science & humanity.

I do love the Speedmaster a lot, however and I’m not totally willing to give up the dream, so I’ve decided to shift my attention to the Speedmaster Broad Arrow, reference 3594.50. Yes, it’s a bit off the mainstream and as a proponent of , this reference does make a little more sense for who I am as a person.

Until next time, dear watch friends.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started