I’ve been struggling with this article’s titular question for a few months now; Am I Luxury?
I believe the answer is “No.” Why? To answer this, I think I need to look at the definition of the word ‘luxury’. 

Merriam-Webster defines it thus:

1: a condition of abundance or great ease and comfort

2a: something adding to pleasure or comfort but not absolutely necessary

2b: an indulgence in something that provides pleasure, satisfaction, or ease.

Do I possess a condition of abundance or great ease and comfort? For the majority of the planet, I think I do. I “own” a home with AC & heating. I have an abundance of food & water, as my waistline can attest. I can drive anywhere I want. All of those things are luxuries in vast areas of our planet, and I “possess” them.

However, in my circumstances (just like in the watch game) luxury is something else entirely. Do I have to make my own bed, wash my own clothes, acquire ingredients & cook my own food (ignore the boxes & boxes of take out meals in the trash), clean my own bathroom? Do I fly first class? Am I chauffeured wherever I want to go? Do I eat at Michelin starred restaurants weekly? In that context (which just so happens to coincide with the luxury watches I lust after), I am not luxury. I cannot afford servants to do those menial & tedious tasks I do not like to do. I cannot afford to eat at any fine dining establishment I choose with any regularity. I can’t afford even an entry level luxury watch without saving for multiple years. 

After consuming a lot of watch content in the past 2 years, I greatly desire a number of luxury watches. From an Omega Speedmaster to a Tudor Ranger to a Vacheron Constantin 56 Overseas to a Longines Zulu Diver to a Seiko to a Glycine to a… well, you get the point. 

The problem for me is that I haven’t done the work to have earned being luxury. My dad died the week I graduated from high school. My mom died 5 years later. I was (probably still am) depressed. I tried college (online), but due to several things, I never finished. I got divorced, went basically homeless for a few years & then by the grace of God got remarried & started digging out of the hole. I lost a lot of time to build my foundation. I’ll probably never retire.

I want to be luxury but don’t know how to get to a place where financially I could honestly feel comfortable about spending even $1000 on a watch. There’s always something else that kind of money would be better used for.

So, I don’t feel like I am luxury enough to be able to acquire a true luxury watch.

What do you think? Am I? Are you?

I write these posts mostly for me. If you see yourself in them, it is purely a coincidence. If you find value in them, I hope it serves you well.

3 responses to “Am I Luxury?”

  1. […] have another blog, all about my experiences collecting watches. Check it out if you have the time & […]

    Like

  2. Why Whimsical Wednesday? – Unholiest Watches Avatar

    […] you may have read in a previous post, I’m not luxury. I’ve never made a lot of money and I’ve tried to value experiences over things, so […]

    Like

  3. It’s Not You, It’s Me… But It’s Totally You – Unholiest Watches Avatar

    […] I’m not sure I’m meant to play in that realm of luxury watch world. As referenced above, it seems that to get ahead in life, one must acquiesce to those in power and […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started